My Journey With Operating Systems


Everyone knows that to use any computer very basic requirement is Operating System so let me start with that.

When I was in college our lab had only Intel 286 based computers with 5.25″ 1.2 MB Floppy Disk Drive without any hard disks. So the only option during that time was MS-DOS. All of us used to have one Floppy disk with MS-DOS, Lotus 1-2-3 and Wordstar on it and that was whole software world for us. Internet was still luxury during that time so it took us some time to know that there is much more to software than Lotus and Wordstar.

After that one of my friend who was civil engineer has bought a computer based on Intel 386, it had hard disk and thats where we were introduced to Windows 3.1. After looking at text only, black and white (with occasional blue) color screen used by DOS and DOS based application we where just couldn’t believe that the screen and text and look so good on computer.

I bought my first computer based on Intel Celeron 440Mhz Processor with 4 MB RAM in 1998 . That was the best value for money configuration during that time. I started with Windows 95, however, everyone in educational institutes were always keep on talking about how great UNIX is (I am not sure how many of them had really worked on UNIX though). I was trying hard to get hold of UNIX but couldn’t get a copy for myself and the search finally ended on Red Hat Linux 6.0 (i didn’t know that UNIX and Linux are two different things at that time).

So I got a dual boot system with Windows 95 and RHL 6.0. I tried to do everything on Linux that I used to do on windows. Since that time Linux has always had and driver for all of my hardware but it took me almost a week’s time to configure my dial-up internet connection on Linux, ah!! what a great experience that was.

I was loyal to Red Hat till last year before I switched to Kubuntu, during these years I tried my hands on RHL 8.0, 9.0, Fedora Core 1 to Fedora Core 4.

Last year I moved for Fedora Core 4 to Kubuntu 7.04 (Feisty Fawn) as I find it eaiser to configure Kubuntu compared to Fedora Core, Also I like KDE better then GNOME that’s why I have chosen Kubuntu over Ubuntu.

Since then I am happy with Kubuntu and now I am using 8.04 (Hardy Heron) (KDE3) version.

I have installed Kubuntu 8.04 with KDE 3 and KDE 4 with all possible configuration viz Dedicated single boot system, Dual Boot with Windows XP, As Windows Based Application Using wubi and under Sun xVM (Formerly Known as Virtual box) virtual machine.

All these are topics for next posts to Stay Tuned 🙂

Links Related to This Post:

This entry was posted in Kubuntu, Operating Systems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

